Press

Reviews: SMALL ADMISSIONS

"Really, really funny... Poeppel herself worked in the admissions department of a New York City private school, so her perceptions and reactions to the process feel entirely authentic. She sees the ridiculous and the sad, and she makes us wonder why we put our kids and ourselves through this ordeal... Both witty and wise, 'Small Admissions' is a big-hearted, charming novel."

"Really, really funny... Poeppel herself worked in the admissions department of a New York City private school, so her perceptions and reactions to the process feel entirely authentic. She sees the ridiculous and the sad, and she makes us wonder why we put our kids and ourselves through this ordeal... Both witty and wise, 'Small Admissions' is a big-hearted, charming novel."

"A smart take on private school admissions."

"A smart take on private school admissions."

"...the novel goes for frothy fun and hits predictably heartwarming notes. Take it for what it is; you'll be entertained." 

"...the novel goes for frothy fun and hits predictably heartwarming notes. Take it for what it is; you'll be entertained." 

"A riotous, overcrowded, entertaining blowout of a novel."

"A riotous, overcrowded, entertaining blowout of a novel."

Us Weekly: Wonderful Winter Reads

Us Weekly: Wonderful Winter Reads

People magazine's "Book of the Week"

People magazine's "Book of the Week"

"When Kate gets dumped, she takes a job in admissions at a fancy prep school, where she finds herself battling bratty teens and their overbearing parents in this dishy, LOL delight."

"When Kate gets dumped, she takes a job in admissions at a fancy prep school, where she finds herself battling bratty teens and their overbearing parents in this dishy, LOL delight."

"Amy Poeppel's Small Admissions, a razor-sharp, very funny novel that follows an admissions officer at a tony New York private school—by a writer who once actually held that very job."

"Amy Poeppel's Small Admissions, a razor-sharp, very funny novel that follows an admissions officer at a tony New York private school—by a writer who once actually held that very job."

"This witty and charming debut stole our hearts this year, and we can't wait to see what Amy Poeppel gifts the literary world with next." 

"This witty and charming debut stole our hearts this year, and we can't wait to see what Amy Poeppel gifts the literary world with next." 

"A great story of someone rebuilding their life. Just as The Devil Wears Prada shed light into the world of fashion magazine editors and The Nanny Diaries enlightened readers to the world of the wealthy Upper East Side, Small Admissions is a hilarious, witty and satirical look at the world of private school admissions in Manhattan."

"A great story of someone rebuilding their life. Just as The Devil Wears Prada shed light into the world of fashion magazine editors and The Nanny Diaries enlightened readers to the world of the wealthy Upper East Side, Small Admissions is a hilarious, witty and satirical look at the world of private school admissions in Manhattan."

"Those who have personally dealt with the grim reality of private school admissions will empathize with this novel's protagonist, a young woman who lands a job at a prestigious New York City school in the midst of a 20-something slump."

"Those who have personally dealt with the grim reality of private school admissions will empathize with this novel's protagonist, a young woman who lands a job at a prestigious New York City school in the midst of a 20-something slump."

"This hilarious journey of ambition, heartbreak, and unexpected secrets will keep Geminis minds flipping and mobile, just the way they like it."

"This hilarious journey of ambition, heartbreak, and unexpected secrets will keep Geminis minds flipping and mobile, just the way they like it."

"…Small Admissions is a fun (and funny) take on how sometimes twists of fate lead us exactly where we are meant to be."

"…Small Admissions is a fun (and funny) take on how sometimes twists of fate lead us exactly where we are meant to be."

"Fans of Primates of Park Avenue and Curtis Sittenfeld's Prep will get a kick out of this novel, which is also a story about how women help one another get back on their feet."

"Fans of Primates of Park Avenue and Curtis Sittenfeld's Prep will get a kick out of this novel, which is also a story about how women help one another get back on their feet."

"After a series of unfortunate events leaves her on her couch watching reruns of Sex and the City, Kate finally starts picking up the pieces of her life when she gets a gig in the admissions department at a swanky private school. This book perfectly captures the spirit of modern adulting — and yes, we’re completely obsessed."

"After a series of unfortunate events leaves her on her couch watching reruns of Sex and the City, Kate finally starts picking up the pieces of her life when she gets a gig in the admissions department at a swanky private school. This book perfectly captures the spirit of modern adulting — and yes, we’re completely obsessed."

"A young woman lands a job in admissions at a highly competitive Manhattan private school. What follows is a hilarious parade of tough-as-nails Park Avenue parents, wacky friends, failed romances and precocious kids."

"A young woman lands a job in admissions at a highly competitive Manhattan private school. What follows is a hilarious parade of tough-as-nails Park Avenue parents, wacky friends, failed romances and precocious kids."

"Filled with honesty, authenticity, and true laugh-out-loud moments, SMALL ADMISSIONS is a beautiful post-holiday gift to give yourself." 

"Filled with honesty, authenticity, and true laugh-out-loud moments, SMALL ADMISSIONS is a beautiful post-holiday gift to give yourself." 

"Full of laugh-out-loud lines, SMALL ADMISSIONS is a can't miss comedy."

"Full of laugh-out-loud lines, SMALL ADMISSIONS is a can't miss comedy."

"Poeppel gives an in-depth look at the admissions process, with a side of secrets, bombshells, heartbreak, and hope. This novel is a slow burn but has a firecracker ending, and is perfect for fans of Curtis Sittenfeld’s Prep or Jessica Anya Blau’s The Trouble with Lexie."

"Poeppel gives an in-depth look at the admissions process, with a side of secrets, bombshells, heartbreak, and hope. This novel is a slow burn but has a firecracker ending, and is perfect for fans of Curtis Sittenfeld’s Prep or Jessica Anya Blau’s The Trouble with Lexie."

“Debut author Poeppel, who did a stint as an admissions officer, gives us an inside peek into the selection process at an elite prep school. The result is a witty and captivating page-turner punctuated with quirky characters and laugh-out-loud moments that are sure to appeal to chick lit lovers of the Marian Keyes/Jennifer Weiner/Susan Isaacs variety.”

“Debut author Poeppel, who did a stint as an admissions officer, gives us an inside peek into the selection process at an elite prep school. The result is a witty and captivating page-turner punctuated with quirky characters and laugh-out-loud moments that are sure to appeal to chick lit lovers of the Marian Keyes/Jennifer Weiner/Susan Isaacs variety.”

"a hilarious look at New York's prep school scene... [and] a laugh-out-loud funny look at status and rejection in all its forms, from the classroom to the bedroom."

"a hilarious look at New York's prep school scene... [and] a laugh-out-loud funny look at status and rejection in all its forms, from the classroom to the bedroom."

"What could have been another tongue-in-cheek novel about private school admissions is actually a very well-written, entertaining tale with some juicy tidbits involving school admissions."

"What could have been another tongue-in-cheek novel about private school admissions is actually a very well-written, entertaining tale with some juicy tidbits involving school admissions."

"An excellent debut."

"An excellent debut."